The Nkoranza North District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the  of Municipalities and Districts in the Bono East Region.


Nkoranza North District with its capital as Busunya forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created by the President, JA Kufuor were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 29th of February 2008.


Nkoranza North District lies within longitudes 1o 10` and 1o 55`West, and latitudes 7o 20` and 7o 55`North. In terms of land area, the District covers about 1376 sq. kilometres.


It shares common administrative boundaries with Kintampo South District to the north, Nkoranza South Municipal to the south, Atebubu Amantin Municipal to the east and Techiman Municipal to the west.


The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 56,468

with 28,744 males 27,724 females.