The Dormaa Central Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 12 of Municipalities and Districts in the Bono Region.

Located at the western part of the region, the Dormaa Central Municipal has its capital as Dormaa Ahenkro

It lies within longitudes 3o West and 3o 30’ West and latitudes 7o North and 7o 30’ North. The municipality has a total land area of 1,210.28square kilometres, which is about three (3.1) percent of the total land area of Bono Region

It is bound in the north by the Jaman South Municipal and in the east by the Dormaa East District, in the south and south-east by Asunafo North Municipal and Asutifi North District, in the west and south-west by Dormaa West and in the west and north-west by La Cote d’Ivoire.

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 50,871 with 23,970 males 26,901 females.