The Yunyoo Nasuan District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 6 MMDAs in the North East Region

The Yunyoo Nasuan District Assembly is carved out of the Bunkpurugu Yunyoo District Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies
 in 2018.

Created with Legislative Instrument (LI) 2349 the Yunyoo District Assembly has its capital as Yunyoo

It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.  

The District is located to the north-eastern corner of North East Region of Ghana. It shares boundaries with Bunkpurugu Nakpanduri District to the north, Republic of Togo to the east, East Mamprusi Municipal to the west and Gushegu Municipal and Cherepon District to the south.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 56,879 with 28,027 males with 28,852 females.