The Weija Gbawe  Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

The Weija Gbawe Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Ga South Municipal Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded districts Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2315, the Weija Gbawe  Municipal Assembly has its capital as Weija and was inaugurated on March  15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.

The Municipality was formally known as Ga South Municipal Assembly, however, in March 2018, LI 1867 was passed changing the name of the Assembly from Ga South Municipal Assembly to Weija Gbawe Municipal Assembly.

The Weija Gbawe Municipality is located in the South Western part of Accra. It lies within Latitudes 5°47'30"N and 5°27'30"N and Longitudes 0°31'30"W and 0°16'30"W and occupies a land area of approximately 502.31 sq. km with about 120 settlements.


The Municipality shares boundaries with Ga South Municipal to the north, Ga Central Municipal to the east, and Ablekuma North Municipal to the south-east. The Municipality also share boundary again with Ga South Municipal to the south-west and the Gulf of Guinea to the south.


The population of Weija Gbawe Municipal Assembly is 213,674 according to the 2021 PHC report. This is made up of 104,910 males and 108,764 females.