The Suame Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 43 of MMDAs in the Ashanti Region. 

The Suame Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2295, the Suame Municipal Assembly has its capital as Suame.

It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.  

The Municipality is located in the central part of Ashanti Region and shares boundaries with Afigya Kwabre South District to the north, Old Tafo Municipality to the east and Kumasi Metropolis to the west and south boundaries.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 36,290 with 64,878 males and 71,412 females.