The North Dayi District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 18 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

The North Dayi District was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I.) 2076 of 2012. Its capital is Anfoega. It was carved out of the then Kpando Municipal and inaugurated on 28th June, 2012. North Dayi District lies within latitudes 60 20’N and 70 05’N, and Longitude 00 17’E.

The Volta Lake which stretches over 80km of the costal line, demarcates the western boundary of the District. The District covers a total land area of 461 square kilometers with almost 30 percent of the land being submerged by the Volta Lake.

It shares boundaries with Kpando Municipal to the north, South Dayi District to the south, and the newly created Afadzato South District to the east.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 39,268 with 19,075 males and 20,193 females.