The Sissala East Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 11 of Municipalities and Districts in the Upper West Region.

The Municipality is located in the north-western part of Ghana in the Upper West Region. The Administrative district capital is Tumu. The Municipality is strategically positioned as it shares a 300 kilometre border with Burkina Faso to the north.

The Municipality shares boundaries to the east with Kassena Nankana Municipal and Builsa North District, both of the Upper East Region while its extreme southeastern portion shares a boundary with Mamprugo Moaduri District of the Northern Region; on the west the District shares boundaries with Sissala West District and to the south Wa East District.

The total area of the Municipality is put at 4,990 square km

The population of the Municipal according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 80,619 with 39,868 males and 40,751 females.