The West Mamprusi Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 6 MMDAs in the North East Region

The West Mamprusi Municipal is one of 45 new districts created in 1988 under the Government of Ghana’s decentralization and was later replaced with LI 2061 in 2012. With its administrative capital as Walewale,  

The Municipality is located within longitudes 0°35’W and 1°45’W and Latitude 9°55’N and 10°35’N. It has a total land size area of 2,596sq km.

It shares boundaries with East Mamprusi Municipal and Gushegu Municipal to the east; North Gonja District, Savelugu Municipal and Kumbungu District to the south; Builsa North District, Kassena-Nankana Municipal and Bolgatanga Municipal (Upper East Region) to the north and; to the west, Mamprusi Moagduri District.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 175,755 with 85,712 males and 90,043 females.