The Nanumba South District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.

The District Assembly was established by Legislative Instrument LI 1763 (2004). It was carved out of the former Nanumba District and has Wulensi as the Administrative capital

The district is located in the eastern corridor of the Northern region of Ghana and lies between latitude 8.5o N &9.0o N and longitude 0.5oE & 0.5oW of the Greenwich Meridian, which more or less divides the district into two parts. The total land area of the district is 1,720Km Square.

The District is occupied by two major ethnic groups, namely the Nanumbas and Konkonbas and a few Basares and other minority tribes with the Nanumbas forming the dominant ethnic group. Therefore major languages spoken are Nanumba and Konkomba.

It shares boundaries with Zabzugu District and the Republic of Togo to the east, East Gonja Municipal to the west, Nkwanta District of the Volta Region to the south-east, Nanumba North Municipal to the north and finally Kpandai District to the south-west.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 106,374 with 52,511 males and 53,863 females.